subcribe to our news updates Subscribe to our
opportunities updates
How to subscribe

Composition Competitions

Schellhorn Prize for Sacred Music Composition
Deadline: Closing date - 18th of February 2015
Matthew Schellhorn has founded a new prize for composers up to the age of 26 focusing on Sacred Music.
The Schellhorn Prize for Sacred Music Composition will be awarded in 2015 to a composer aged 26 or under who composes an original motet. The winner will receive £500 and a professional performance at St Mary Moorfields Catholic Church in the City of London.
The Schellhorn Prize for Sacred Music Composition is supported by the Latin Mass Society of England and Wales. Joseph Shaw, Chairman of the Latin Mass Society, said: "I am delighted that the Latin Mass Society should be supporting this initiative, which demonstrates that the tradition of sacred music is alive, and continues to serve the Church's ancient liturgy."
Posted: 13 January 2015

The LSO 2015 Composition Scheme
Deadline: Friday 20th February 2015
Once again the LSO will offer six UK-based composers the opportunity to write a new three-minute work for the London Symphony Orchestra. Each composer will receive tutorials from Colin Matthews (Composition Director), input from Christian Mason (Composition Support), support from LSO players, and open access to LSO rehearsals and concerts, enabling each composer to experiment over time and develop their orchestral writing skills.
Applicants should be under the age of 45 and should be of British nationality, studying in the UK, or resident in the UK for at least three year.
Posted: 12 December 2014

The Molinari Quartet's Sixth International Competition for Composition
Deadline: 1 April 2015
The Molinari Quartet is pleased to announce its Sixth International Competition for Composition for string quartet. Composers who are 40 years old or less as of April 1st 2015 are invited to submit an original work for string quartet. The best compositions will be played in concert during the Molinari Quartet's Twentieth and Beyond series to be held in Montreal (Quebec, Canada) during the 2015-2016 season.
Further information [PDF]
Posted: 13 November 2014

back to top